A Rescue Operation

I don’t remember exactly when they moved in, but for the last six months or so that I was in Okinawa an Air Force family moved into the other house next door to my little place on the hill.

Awase, neighbor's roof

This is not my neighbor’s house, but it approximates the view of their roof that I had from my back porch.

The dad was a helicopter pilot (Air Force Lieutenant, I believe) and the mom worked in personnel. They also had a young son, maybe 6 or 7, who was quite active. *(A lot of his toys spent a considerable amount of time in the air.)*

All of them were very nice (the dad offered to take me up in a helicopter any time I wanted) but mostly we didn’t really see each other very often since our work schedules were very different. Sadly, I don’t remember any of their names, but at least three of my stories involve them, including this one, so I’m going to have to make some up—just for storytelling purposes you see.

So, I figure I should use easily remembered names, and the first three that popped into my head were Larry, Curly, and Moe, but that won’t really work for this. Then I thought of Dick, Jane, and Sally, but if by some chance the boy ever found out about this post and read it, I don’t think he’d appreciate being called Sally. Probably come kick my ass or something.

Then I thought of Joseph and Mary, which would of course make the boy’s name Chester, or Chet for short, so that’s what I’m gonna call them. And here we go.

One of the days, a few months after they moved in, that I was home and they weren’t, I was standing on my back porch and noticed *there were quite a lot of the boy’s toys on their roof.* (My little house above the garage was on a slight rise compared to theirs.) I also noticed an easily-climbable tree near the back corner of the house and decided it would be friendly (and fun) gesture to gather all of those toys and leave them in a pile at their front door.

So that’s what I did, and also left a note taped to the door that read: Compliments of your friendly neighborhood Spider Man.

I didn’t see them for a couple of days due to our work schedules and the fact that I went out after work quite a lot, but when I did finally run into Lt. Joe he had a big grin on his face. Aside from asking if I was the one who’d retrieved the toys (duh) and how I’d gotten up there (showed him the tree), not much else happened at that time. We had a laugh over it and went our own ways, but it was a prelude of things to come. 😀

Published by

R. S. Leergaard

US Navy veteran and writer of stories. Blogger of things.

Leave a Reply

